A besan ( bengal gram flour) Pudding.

This is a Maharashtrian Sweet dish called “Ninav” , the key ingredient of which is “Besan” . My mom always made this & everyone at home enjoyed eating it. So here is my mom’s recipe-

Ingredients- 1/2 kg chana dal ( or besan ) , 1/2 cup whole wheat grain ( or whole wheat flour) , 1/2 cup Rice ( or rice flour) . Roast everything separately . Grind it to fine flour if you are taking the whole grains. Take 1 cup of this flour & add 1/2 cup of jaggery, 2 cups of coconut milk, salt to taste, 1/2 tsp of cardamom, 1/4th tsp of nutmeg , 2 tbsp of ghee or clarified butter & mix it well. Put this mixture on low heat , keep stirring it to avoid lumps till you get a consistency of a porridge. Then take a baking pan, smear it with butter & pour this mixture into it. Preheat the oven to 150C & keep the above batter for 20 min till u see it getting a brownish tinge.
I hope you enjoy making this for your family!

5 responses to “A besan ( bengal gram flour) Pudding.

  1. If I don’t have an oven can I make a ‘ghawan’ out of it..on a tawa? I guess..It too will taste good! !

  2. I haven’t tried it out but I might taste good. How about making it in vessel kept in pressure cooker ?( don’t put the whistle on the cooker.)

  3. i wanted this recipe for long. my ckp friends always treated me to it

  4. can anyone give me the dry prawn curry recipe of ckp maharashtrians

Leave a Reply

